Day 2 – Maybe I’ll Just Watch Final Fantasy Cut-Scenes

DeathtoStock_Medium10.jpg
I was cataloguing the books, movies, and games I’ve purchased recently. It kind of amazes me how much I’ve collected, just in the last couple months alone. On the one hand, I’m grateful to have a job that finally affords me to buy cool stuff. On the other hand, I wonder sometimes if I’m turning into a hoarder. Not really, but….

It kind of freaks me out a little to think about not acquiring any more for a year. I know that sounds weird. It’s almost like I’ve gone into prison and have to rely solely on what I’ve brought in with me (if prisoners could bring stuff in with them). In a small way, it actually sounds fun. Promising, even. The space and permission to actually relax and take in all the stuff I’ve collected.

Maybe that’s what it’s been about for me. Growing up poor, I was never really able to just buy stuff when it looked good or sounded intriguing. Maybe that’s what I’ve been over-compensating for?

Or maybe I’m just over-thinking this.


Confessions:

I was this close to buying all the current Final Fantasy games today (PS3 and newer). I’ve never played them and the art style has always called to me. Instead, I watched a good hour of gameplay on YouTube and realized I had no patience for Pokemon-style fighting every 10 minutes.

The story however… that is something that intrigues me. The cut scenes were very compelling (at least what I’ve watched so far), and way more interesting than playing through a click-click-choose-this-weapon style of game.

That’s why YouTube is so awesome…. there are actually uploads of entire games’ cut-scenes! Movie-style. While I would never watch that much of a game I intend to play some day, I would totally watch all the cut-scenes of a game I would probably hate the game-play of. So… yeah… add that to my list of cool stuff I get to do this year of no buying stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

