Day 0 – Why I Decided To Stop Buying Media

art background paper notebook desk DeathtoStock_Medium9.jpg

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, which has absolutely nothing to do with anything, except that I’d like to remember that that’s when I decided to start my fast. I was realizing today that I have way too many books, movies, and video games, but have barely finished any of them. (Well okay, I’ve seen 95% of the movies I own, but I rarely re-watch them). It’s like I love the chase, the collecting, the ability to have the option of consuming this media whenever I want it… even if I buy it much faster than I actually consume it.

Hence the fast.

To clarify, I’m not fasting so much from playing, reading, or watching, but from spending. I have a goal to not buy any more consumable media until next Thanksgiving. Notable exceptions that are allowed include going anywhere to participate in a mass consumption (i.e.: spending money to go to a movie theater or a concert), as well as any subscriptions I already have (Netflix, Spotify, etc) or spending any gift cards I might get for a birthday or Christmas. Also I’m not specifically including music on my banned list, since I rarely, if ever, purchase it (thank you, Spotify). Excluded from this also is anything I’ve already pre-ordered (I’m looking at you, Sims 4: Get Together).

Oh… and digital definitely counts as something I’m not allowed to buy this year. Digital games on Steam or PSN are strictly forbidden, as are Kindle books and iTunes movies (including rentals). I already have enough of any of these categories to last me 12 lifetimes. I plan to use this year instead to finish a bunch of this stuff, instead of buying more.


Goals For This Year:

  • Finish the games I’ve already started but not finished on PS3, PS4, and Steam (more detailed count to come in a later post).
  • Finish the books I’ve already started but not finished, both real or Kindle (more detailed count to come in a later post).
  • Watch any unwatched movies I own.
  • Play and finish at least 3 games that I own but have never started.
  • Start and finish at least 10 books that I own but have never started.
  • Re-watch at least 20 movies that I own.

It’s Your Turn To Talk!
Let’s get the conversation started! I’d love to hear your thoughts on this or similar topics.

I’m curious how other people handle their media consumption and buying habits. Is this something you struggle with? Have you ever imposed a buying ban on yourself? Why or why not? Could you do it if you put your mind to it?

Leave a Reply

